top of page

Welcome to Kennel Ihku. I'm Marie, the driving force behind our small hobby kennel. We reside in southern Finland, Porvoo, in a house with a spacious yard, surrounded by fields and woods, with a few neighbors nearby. Our family consists of two adults, three young children, four dogs, one cat, chickens, and one Muscovy duck. We all share a deep love for animals, especially dogs. The children are actively involved and often accompany us on walks.

Outdoor activities are a big part of our lifestyle. While we're not heavily engaged in dog sports, I thoroughly enjoy attending dog shows with our furry companions. They are cherished members of our family. My eldest daughter has recently begun Junior handling.

I used to have a hobby involving horses when I was younger. Later, I pursued a dogsitter course and worked intermittently with dogs alongside my studies during my teenage years. Eventually, when my now-husband Elvis and I moved into an apartment together, I purchased my first dog, Hugo, a Norwegian Lundehund. Sadly, Hugo passed away at the age of 5 due to an autoimmune illness, and our female dog also succumbed to illness at 3 years old. These losses shattered my plans of breeding them.

138535856_10158859322292381_289393997426
MEME.jpg

I was determined to ensure that our next breed would be as healthy as possible. After considering alternatives like the Border Collie and Stabyhoun, I discovered the Finnish Lapphund. We fell in love and welcomed Luna into our home. Luna had her first litter in 2018.

After some time, I felt drawn to a smaller breed. By chance, I stumbled upon the Miniature American Shepherd, though it wasn't yet recognized by the FCI. I kept an eye on it and when it was recognized in 2018, I knew I had to meet one. It was love at first sight.

The Miniature American Shepherd was the perfect size, active, intelligent, affectionate, and deeply bonded to its owner. I put myself on the waiting list for a MAS from a breeder in Germany. After waiting through two litters, Dolly finally came home in the winter of 2019.

It didn't take long before I began searching for a male companion for her. With the help of a friend, I found Toby in Texas, and he joined our family in the winter of 2020. Since then, I've imported a female from Germany, Taco from Hungary, Cover from Estonia, and Vamos from Spain. Our newest imports are Juni and Montana from the USA. Both have had their first litters, but unfortunately, Montana tested positive for the new disease NAD (neuroaxonal dystrophy) and has since been retired. Thankfully, Taco, the male we used with her, tested clear, so the puppies are only carriers.

I feel incredibly eager and honored to be a part of developing the future of this breed in Finland.

bottom of page